Back | Print
Robyn Lambley - Member for Araluen


26 August 2013

The 2013 NT Paramedic of the Year has been named during a ceremony at Parliament House this evening.

Minister for Health Robyn Lambley presented Darwin paramedic Amanda McNeill with the prestigious award from a field of 27 outstanding paramedics nominated.

“Amanda’s commitment to providing outstanding care and personal attention was noticed by several members of the community who put her up for the award,” Mrs Lambley said.

“The genuine care and compassion with which she goes about her day-to-day job and the high level of professionalism she displays when providing urgent medical care to those in need put her at the top of what was a highly competitive field.

“Not only has Amanda been put forward for this award by the community, she has also earnt the respect and trust of her colleagues as an integral team member who shows great compassion for her patients and their families.”

Now in its 14th year, the awards which were established by the Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise, provide an opportunity to recognise paramedics who perform their duties to the highest standard.

“It’s important that we have these awards to acknowledge and celebrate the contribution of our paramedics working across Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Katherine, Nhulunbuy and Darwin,” Mrs Lambley said.

“Our paramedics are often the first respondents when people are in need of urgent medical care. They do a tremendous job providing urgent medical treatment wherever and whenever it is needed.

“I admire all of our paramedics for their consistent high level of  performance in what is a challenging and high-pressure job. To be named NT Paramedic of the Year shows how terrific Amanda is at what she does. Congratulations on a job very well done.”


Media Contact: Georgia McCabe 0438 384 506

Related files:
130826 Lambley - Paramedic of the Year.pdf ( 99.17 kb )