Northern Territory Government Newsroom

Streamlining Governance to Improve Health Services

The Territory Labor Government is improving health services with the appointment of the new Health Advisory Committees and Clinical Senates today.

The Minister for Health Natasha Fyles announced sweeping reforms to Territory Health Service governance early this year.

“Territorians want and deserve access to high quality services and we’re delivering this through a more streamlined structure that maintains and strengthens accountability across the system at lower administrative costs,” Ms Fyles said.

“We’ve replaced the two former Health Boards with two community based Health Advisory Committees for Top End Health Services (TEHS) and Central Australian Health Services (CAHS) and one Territory Wide Clinical Senate.”

Minister Fyles said the changes improve efficiency in the system and create cost savings of more than $1 million per annum.

“I am proud today to welcome members of the new Health Advisory Committees,” Ms Fyles said.

“These committee members will ensure the Health Services are connected to community by advocating for and advising on issues affecting the health, well-being and cultural values of the community.”

The Health Advisory Committees will meet four times a year with the Health Service’s Chief Operating Officer (COO); special meetings may also be called by the Committee Chair.

The Minister for Health has also announced members of the Territory wide multi-disciplinary Clinical Senate.

Clinical leadership will guided by a consumer-centered approach to care and be provided the strategic and policy advice and support of the NT Health chief professional officers.

This group will meet four times a year to ensure high quality clinical governance and decision making for the health services. The first meeting is scheduled for December 1.

Please see the full list of appointees below.

Media Contact: Laetitia Lemke 0418 973 602



Health Advisory Committee:

Top End Health Service Health Advisory Committee:

The Central Australian Health Service Health Advisory Committee:

The NT Clinical Senate: