Northern Territory Government Newsroom

Bringing Back the Arafura Games: Countries List Continues to Grow

Four more countries have officially signed up for the Arafura Games, which the Territory Labor Government is bringing back in 2019.

Minister for the Arafura Games, Ken Vowles, said the Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu are the latest additions to the growing list of countries who have officially signed up to take part.

“More than 12 months out from the Arafura Games returning, we now have eight countries who will be sending athletes and support crews to the Territory,” Mr Vowles said.

“The latest four join Indonesia, Vietnam, the Philippines and Timor-Leste.”

The Arafura Games, which were scrapped by the previous CLP government, will return from April 27 – May 4 2019. 

“We’re really starting to see things take off now, with more and more countries coming on board,” Mr Vowles said. “Good sporting connections are closely linked to trade opportunities, so the relationships we build now through bringing back the Arafura Games will support our economy into the future.

The Territory already runs a Seasonal Workers Program for temporary workers from Tuvalu to help the NT’s agricultural sector, and the Darwin-based National Critical Care Trauma Response Centre (NCCTRC) works with the Solomon Islands on health issues and disaster management.

Mr Vowles used the announcement of four more countries to urge Territorians to sign up as volunteers for the Games. 

“The Arafura Games are an opportunity to grow community participation through volunteering, either at the Games themselves or through your sport of choice,” he said.

“We have more than 100 people signed up already and want to see hundreds more.”

Media contact: Leanne Hudson 0427 687 079