Skip to main content

World Teachers Day: Recognising Territory Educator Excellence

Office of the Chief Minister

Territory teacher excellence in the face of a global pandemic will be celebrated this World Teachers Day, with the community given the chance to thank school teachers, principals, leaders and support staff for their dedication and commitment to providing quality education for Territory students. 

Local award ceremonies across the NT including Darwin, Alice Springs, Nhulunbuy, Katherine and Tennant Creek will recogniseeducators for their contributions towards shaping the futures of Territory children.

2020 has seen our schools, educators and support staff change and adapt to the new normal due to COVID-19 to ensure the continued delivery of education, all while supporting students and their families.

While NT students were able to return to the classroom in term 2, the impacts of COVID-19 across school operations and for staff, particularly in remote communities, have continued.

The Northern Territory was the first jurisdiction to be able to safely return to classroom-based learning in time for the start of term 2, and teachers, principals, leaders and support staff played a significant role in making this possible. 

The overall winners for the 2020 Teaching in the Territory Excellence Awards are:

·         Northern Territory Principal of the Year: Lorraine Hodgson, Nemarluk School (Darwin)

·         Northern Territory Leadership in Schools: Michele Turk, Bradshaw Primary School (Central)

·         Northern Territory Primary Teacher of the Year: Roseanna Brunker, Batchelor Area School (Top End)

·         Northern Territory Secondary Teacher of the Year: Daniel Yore, Yirrkala School (East Arnhem)

·         Northern Territory Aboriginal Educator of the Year: Tomisena Duncan, Jilkminggan School (Barkly)

·         Northern Territory Special Educator of the Year: Evie Taspe, Kintore Street School (Big Rivers)

·         Northern Territory Vocational Education Trainer of the Year: Daniel Ellem, Baniyala Garrangali School (East Arnhem)

·         Northern Territory Education Support Person of the Year: Geraldine Butter, Ross Park Primary School (Central)

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education, Lauren Moss:

“We are grateful every day for the outstanding efforts and vital contribution made by teachers, principals and support staff in providing young Territorians with the best possible foundations for their future wellbeing and prosperity. But today is a chance to really shine the spotlight on their work and properly thank them for all that they do.

“COVID-19 saw a lot of pressure placed on our educators earlier this year. The virus meant our schools and staff had to adapt quickly at all levels to ensure our kids were safe at school, or could learn from home.

“Their hard work and our early decision-making during the COVID-19 pandemic meant the NT was the first jurisdiction to return to face-to-face learning in term 2, and I thank our teachers and support staff for their tireless work through that period in particular.  

“That hard work is recognised in this year’s theme; Teachers: Leading in crisis, reimagining the future, and I congratulate this year’s nominees and winners of our Teaching Excellence Awards.”

Media contact: Hannah West 0436 641 108

--> --> --> --> --> -->