Northern Territory Government Newsroom

Budget 2018: Better schools and more jobs with an extra $13.18 million

The Territory Labor Government is investing an additional $13.18 million in education infrastructure to improve school facilities and create local jobs across the NT. 

Minister for Education, Eva Lawler, said as part of the Budget 2018 process an additional investment in shovel-ready projects will enhance the educational experience for young Territorians.

“This government is investing in generational change to create a brighter future for all Territorians,” Ms Lawler said.

“The Territory Labor Government will always invest in jobs and education because we care about the Territory’s future and know that quality infrastructure is important for meeting the needs of students now and into the future.

“The $13.18 million will include new transportable classrooms, outdoor learning spaces, new toilet facilities and painting projects. It will create a steady stream of work for local contractors across the Territory and provide a boost to the economy.

“It continues this Government’s strong record of investing in job-creating infrastructure – our schools and hospitals, our roads, our cities and towns, and remote and urban housing – right across the Territory.”

Ms Lawler said the $13.18 million is in addition to the $300,000 every Territory school will receive over four years through the Building Better Schools program.

She made the announcement at Anula Primary School, which will receive $800,000 from the $13.18 million investment to spend on infrastructure, including the refurbishment of student toilet facilities.

Anula Primary School Principal, Kerry Hudson, said the funding means the school, which turns 40 this year, can provide modern amenities for students.

“This funding provides us with the opportunity to enhance and refurbish our facilities so we can continue to grow and provide a quality education for our students for another 40 years,” she said.

The tender for the toilet upgrade is open now.

More than 20 schools will benefit from the fast-tracked school infrastructure investment, including:

Clyde Fenton Primary School

Kalkaringi School

Lajamanu School

Larrakeyah Primary School

Leanyer Primary School

Ludmilla Primary School

Mataranka School

Ngukurr School

Nightcliff Middle School

Pigeon Hole School

Rockhampton Downs School

Stuart Park Primary School

Media Contact: Leanne Hudson 0427 687 079